website statistics

Attenborough Prize Shortlist Announced


Attenborough Prize Shortlist Announced

Seven contemporary artists are vying for a £1,000 prize and an opportunity to exhibit their work at Leicester’s New Walk Museum & Art Gallery.

The artists have been selected from the gallery’s Open 25 exhibition – an annual event that provides an opportunity for artists from the region to display their work.

Now all seven are on the shortlist for the 2014 Attenborough Prize – with the winner due to be announced on Friday (14 February).

Assistant City Mayor Cllr Piara Singh Clair said: “The Attenborough Prize is awarded to the best contemporary visual artist in the Open 25 exhibition.

“The standard of work is always extremely high – but this year, it’s going to be exceptionally hard to pick a winner from an excellent shortlist.”

The 2014 shortlisted artists and artworks are:

Chiara Enzo, Marta’s Back; Jessica Hayre, Red; Katherine Staples, Moving out of the Darkness; Oliver Marc Thomas Leger, Sacre Blue Baleine; Peter Berry, Black Painting January; Robert Youngson, Flowers 1; Ruth Joy, Don’t Look #8.

The Attenborough Prize was first awarded in 2007 and aims to support a regional-based artist and their professional development. The winner receives £1,000 and an exhibition opportunity at the museum, with two runners-up prizes of £250 also awarded.

Exhibitions officer Hugo Worthy said: “We have been incredibly impressed by the standard of the work received and are thrilled that these seven outstanding works can be brought to the attention of the Leicester public.

“We congratulate the artists on their achievement and look forward to introducing their work to new audiences at the New Walk Museum & Art Gallery.”

The Attenborough Prize shortlist will be exhibited as part of the Open 25 exhibition at New Walk Museum & Art Gallery from Saturday (15 February). Admission to the exhibition – which runs until 27 April 2014 – is free.

Previous winners of the Attenborough Prize winners are: Bryan Hible and Mark W. Russell (2013 joint winners); Edward Sellman (2011); David Raine (2010); Neil Raitt (2009); Sarah Key (2008); and Choterina Freer (2007).

The annual Open exhibition is a great barometer of creative talent in the region, featuring a wide range of different art forms including landscape painting, photography, illustration, sculpture, textiles and ceramics. All the artworks are for sale, providing a perfect opportunity for visitors to start their very own art collection.

The exhibition is open to artists living or working in Leicestershire, Rutland, Derbyshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and Northamptonshire, with craft practitioners also from Warwickshire and the West Midlands.

The Open 25 exhibition is supported by QualitySolictors Wilson Browne.

Artist prizes are supported by De Montfort Hall, John E Wright, LCB Depot, Leicester Museums’ Trust, Leicester People’s Photographic Gallery, Leicester Print Workshop, Makers’ Yard, Phoenix, Soft Touch Arts, The Mighty Creatives and QualitySolicitors Wilson Browne.

More information on the Open 25 exhibition is available at